News Digest: Domestic Politics & Governance (December 30, 2021 – January 5, 2022)


On January 3, seats for the National Assembly members were divided among five parties of the ruling coalition–one seat for Rastriya Janamorcha, two for Janata Samajbadi Party, five for CPN (Unified Socialist), five for Maoist Centre, and six for Congress.

Elections for 20 members of the upper house will take place on January 26. On March 4, 20 National Assembly members will complete their four year terms. The National Assembly polls will be held jointly, as decided by the five party ruling coalition.

Five candidates have been picked by the Maoist Centre for the upcoming January 26 National Assembly elections. On January 3, UML, CPN (Unified Socialist), and Congress decided their picks for National Assembly candidates.

On January 2, Pushpa Kamal Dahal selected 236 members for the Central Committee. The Maoist Centre now needs to elect 14 office bearers and 63 out of 299 member Central Committee. Party chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal will most likely elect office bearers.

A Central Committee meeting of the Maoist Centre, which took place after the party’s eighth general convention, elected Pushpa Kamal Dahal as the party chair.

Pushpa Kamal Dahal’s 45 page long political document titled “Nepal’s Road to Socialism in the 21st Century, which he presented during the party’s convention, has been unanimously endorsed despite criticism.

As per the Nepali Congress party statute, which allows the president to elect 33 Central Working Committee members, on January 1 and 2, Sher Bahadur Deuba elected 13 party leaders. However, Deuba has been criticised for electing only allies and promoting factionalism in the party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.