News Digest: Domestic Politics & Governance (November 25 – December 1, 2021)


On March 4, terms of 20 National Assembly members will expire, and elections to replace them are scheduled for January 24. Observers said that CPN-UML which currently has a majority of seats, given the ongoing political dynamics, will have a minority of seats after elections.

The 10th national congress of CPN-UML started on November 26. The convention will elect a new chair for the next five years. The party advertised that 500,000 people would attend the convention, but the Kathmandu Post reported that 200,000 people ‘likely’ attended it.

CPN-UML, in a Central Committee meeting on November 26, amended the party’s statute to increase the number of members in the Central Committee from 225 members to 301 members and number of office bearers from 15 to 19. Furthermore, the meeting decided to increase the number of vice-chairs by two and deputy general secretaries by two.

CPN-UML’s party election was delayed after too many candidates applied for the increased number of Central Committee members and other posts. Furthermore, there is competition for the three posts of deputy-secretary general and seven posts of secretary.

Oli won the position of CPN-UML party president for the next five years with 1,837 votes, with his competitor Rawal getting 223 votes. The party attempted but failed to stall elections for vice chair, secretary posts, and Central Committee members. Oli’s selections were elected for vice-chairs, secretaries, senior vice-chair, general secretary, deputy general secretary, and Central committee members.

KP Oli’s five trusted lieutenants were elected unopposed for various positions during the CPN-UML General Convention. Ishwor and Shankar Pokhrel were elected unopposed for senior vice-chair and general secretary positions while Pradeep Gyawali, Prithivi Subba Gurung, and Bishnu Rimal secured three deputy general secretary positions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.